2017 MUNI Awards Honors Local Governments

The Municipal League of Metro St. Louis announced the winners of its 2017 MUNI Awards during a ceremony at its May 31st meeting. The following cities and individuals were recognized for their accomplishment:

    • Citizen Engagement — Presented to the City of Crestwood for its “Christmas in Crestwood” program.
    • Collaboration — Presented to the St. Louis Area Insurance Trust (SLAIT) for creating a local insurance pool.
    • Policy Initiative — Presented to the city of Maryland Heights for operational and staffing assessments of its police department.
    • Public Safety — Presented to the city of Vinita Park for the creation of the North County Police Cooperative.
    • Sustainability — Presented to the city of Creve Coeur for their efforts to promote environmental consciousness.
    • Buzz Westfall Award for Excellence in Local Government — Presented to Florissant Mayor Tom Schneider for his lifetime of services and in particular his leadership in last year’s efforts to retain the out-of-state auto sales tax.

Photo Credit: City of Florissant Facebook page. Pictured (l-r) is Ward 2 Councilman Tim Jones, Ward 7 Council President
Jackie Pagano, Ward 8 Councilman Robert Parson, Mayor Thomas Schneider,
Ward 5 Councilman Keith Schildroth and Ward 4 Councilman Jeff Caputa


Proposal for City Re-Entry into St. Louis County

CITY RE-ENTRY INTO ST. LOUIS COUNTY:  A UNITY OF PURPOSE FOR REGIONAL ECONOMIC PROSPERITY The Municipal League of Metro St. Louis believes that one of the most critical strategic issues confronting our metropolitan area is the need to generate new sources of revenue by attracting new jobs and businesses to our cities.  We believe that […]

Municipal League of Metro St. Louis Approves City Re-Entry Policy

St. Louis (October 28) On Thursday evening, The Executive Board of the Municipal League of Metro St. Louis introduced to their members a policy supporting the City of St. Louis re-entering St. Louis County as the region’s 91st municipality.


The policy states that the multi-city structure of the County has served our residents well and should be preserved.  But unless significant steps are taken to improve the opportunity to create new jobs and attract new businesses to our metropolitan area, the policy proposes that there will not be sufficient resources to sustain that form of government.
Read more


Municipal League of Metro St. Louis Elects New President, Recognizes Exceptional Public Servants


League Executive Director Pat Kelly presents retired Kirkwood Mayor Art McDonnell with the Buzz Westfall Award for Excellence in Local Government 

Additional photos available upon request: LSihilling@stlmuni.org

May 27 – St. Louis – The Municipal League of Metro St. Louis announced its new term president as well as the winners of its 5th annual Muni Awards at a ceremony held last night at Greenbriar Country Club. The awards recognize most outstanding and creative achievements among its members in the last year.


The League installed Creve Coeur Mayor Barry Glantz as its new president as well as several new officers and board members, including:


  • Vice President – Councilman Chuck Caverly, Maryland Heights
  • Finance Chairman – Mayor Norm McCourt, Black Jack

New and Re-elected Board Members:


  • Alderwoman Darlene Bell, Moline Acres
  • Alderman Errol Bush, Northwoods
  • Mayor James Knowles, III, Ferguson
  • Mayor Edward Mahan, Rock Hill

Shawndrea Thomas of Fox 2 and KPLR 11 emceed the event and presented the following Muni Awards:


Buzz Westfall Award for Excellence in Local Government

Recognizes exceptional leadership and contributions to the betterment of local government

Winner: retired Kirkwood Mayor Art McDonnell

Achievement: Strong leadership in face of City Hall tragedy as a Council member, established an outstanding new city manager and led the restoration of the Kirkwood community after unrest


Art & Culture

Winner: City of Creve Coeur, Accepted by Mayor Glantz

Achievement: Since it was founded in 2011, the Arts Committee has worked to curate public art in Creve Coeur and to create opportunities for residents and community members to engage with the arts. The City of Creve Coeur has partnered with civic leaders, businesses, residents and community partners to increase the city’s public art collection and to promote encounters with art.


Citizen Engagement

Winner: City of Bellerive Acres Community Association, Accepted by Michelle Jones, Don Maurice and Connie Bachman

Achievement: Last year, the association created two major events – a citywide Fall Roundup to clean up and promote recycling and beautification, as well as a 75th anniversary celebration.




Winner: Eight cities were recognized for their participation in the Municipal Partners for Inclusive Recreation (MPIR). The following accepted the awards.

  1. Des Peres: Parks Director Brian Schaffer and MPIR Director Terri Johnson
  2. Ballwin, City Administrator Eric Hanson
  3. Brentwood, City Administrator Bola Akande and Parks Director Eric Gruenfelder
  4. Crestwood, Mayor Gregg Roby and City Administrator Kris Simpson
  5. Ellisville, Mayor Adam Paul
  6. Kirkwood, Parks Director Murray Pounds
  7. Manchester, Mayor David Willson and Parks Director Eileen Collins.
  8. Sunset Hills, Mayor Patricia Fribis

Achievement: The MPIR assisted member departments to increase the recreational participation opportunities for people with disabilities.


Parks, Recreation and Wellness

Winner: City of Pasadena Hills, Accepted by Mayor Geno Salvati and Marie Penack

Achievement: The Pasadena Hills Pond Committee used a Municipal Park Grant to dredge a one-acre pond that was dying with algae build-up and the repair and reconstruction of the iconic deck and bridge and beautiful surrounding area.


Public Safety

Winner: City of Pasadena Hills, Accepted by Mayor Geno Salvati and Marie Penack

Achievement: The city has worked with Florissant Valley Community College to broaden their recruiting of minority students by securing a part-time teaching position for Chief Jeremy Ihler as helps students hone their job preparation skills for a career in policing.


Sustainability and Preservation

Winner: City of Shrewsbury, accepted by Mayor Felicity Buckley and Parks Director Chris Buck

Achievement: Updated outdate HVAC equipment to decrease utility and maintenance costs.


The Municipal League of Metro St. Louis thanks these individuals and communities for their excellence in local government that makes such a positive difference in the lives of St. Louisans.


For more information, please contact Pat Kelly at pkelly@stlmuni.org or 314-726-4747



About the Municipal League of Metro St. Louis

Linking Local Communities, Strengthening Local Government

The Municipal League of Metro St. Louis is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, voluntary association of cities, villages and county governments dedicated to improving the quality of life for area residents. Learn more at stlmuni.org.




# # #











SLACMA and League Sponsor Golf League



SLCMA and the Municipal League of Metro St. Louis are sponsoring a new social traveling golf league.  The league will play 6 municipal golf course; 5 – 9 hole rounds and 1 – 18 hole round. This is an individual player league with stableford score format.  The league is open to city managers, city staff, elected officials and affiliate members of both SLACMA and the     Municipal League.

Cost is $20.00 per round; proceeds will go toward scholarship and continuing education programs.


May 19 / St. Ann / 3:00 PM

June 16 / Bridgeton / 3:00 PM

July 21 / Ballwin / 3:00 PM

Aug. 18 / University City / 3:00 PM

Sept 15 / Creve Coeur / 3:00 PM

Oct 20 – Florissant / 12:00 Noon

For more information or registration form contact League office.